Large star blocks are perfect for medallion quilts, where a large quilt block is placed at (or near) the center of a quilt before being surrounded by other designs. Sampler quilts are good choices for stars, too – choose a star quilt block pattern for each open slot in the sampler. Select a single star block that you love and sew a batch of them side-by-side. You might decide to separate a batch of star blocks with sashing and cornerstones. Try using star quilt blocks in a strippy setting by creating vertical columns of stars that are separated by either plain strips of fabric or patchwork dividers. Horizontal strippy set quilts are often called ‘row’ quilts – horizontal rows replace vertical columns. 

Browse this star quilts photo gallery for inspiration and experiment with stars to find a layout you love. I found a very old pattern for the Union Star and decided to sew with lots of calicos but to update its look with brighter, newer colors, too. Pink and brown are such fun colors for girls these days! I quilted roses in the center of the blocks, and her baby was named Ryan Rose. I didn’t know that at the time I did the quilting!" I was inspired by the center panel from Benartex’s Gotham fabric line when I decided to make something special for Ben’s 21st birthday. The quilt was a labor of love, and he was thrilled." Patterns to Use in a Medallion Quilt

Arrow Crown Quilt Block Pattern How to Create a Unique Medallion Quilt

The gentleman who quilted this piece is Milton Wells of Stillwater, OK, a wonderful quilter. You can see the details of the quilt on the following pages." The quilt measures 49" x 59." Here’s a Double Pinwheel quilt block pattern. It’s constructed differently than Peg’s, but the end result is very similar." The quilt is approximately 70" x 90", and will be used for Grandma to sleep under on her sofa." When it was auctioned on eBay, a dear friend was bidding on it to get it back for me. I didn’t know who was bidding on the quilt and I was bidding against her! She ended up winning, and the quilt was given to me at a retreat last summer. BIG surprise!" One day I found a whole rack of cotton batiks. I had to buy some of each. The geometric print in the focus fabric for this quilt was large, bold and a bit random, so I used it to make large stars. The finished quilt measures 52" x 67"." I wanted to make a quilt for my grandmother (pictured) who has made me dozens of quilts over the years. I enjoyed it so much that I am searching for my next pattern as we speak. Thank you for making the instructions and diagrams so easy to read for this beginning quilter!"