Following list shows meanings of the words and phrases often used during a two way radio communication. You may also want to read about etiquette of radio communication.

Mayday: I need help Roger: Message has been fully received and understood Wilco: “Will comply” (i.e. I/we will carry out the orders) Read: Often used as a question; as in “do you read me?”… the speaker is asking if the other party is able to listen to the radio clearly. Copy: Meaning is same as that of read.. used as “do you copy?” Check/Copy that: Message is understood Read back: Repeat this message back to me Correction: I made a mistake. Correct version is… 20: Location… (for example “what is your 20?”) Acknowledge: Confirm that you understand my message Confirm: My version is… Is that correct? That is correct: Yes, I do confirm Words twice: Send every phrase twice Stand-by: Wait Obtain: Get Affirmative: Yes Negative: No Dispatch: Send Unable: Can’t Over: I have finished saying Out: Call is being terminated Say again: Repeat what you said (silence): I have nothing to say

A – Alpha B – Bravo C – Charlie D – Delta E – Echo F – Foxtrot G – Golf H – Hotel I – India J – Juliet K – Kilo L – Lima M – Mike N – November O – Oscar P – Papa Q – Quebec R – Romeo S – Sierra T – Tango U – Uniform V – Victor W – Whiskey X – X-ray Y – Yankee Z – Zulu So, how was it? It is real fun to learn all this. Would you try to use this radio jargon in your daily life?! Do let me know if you will and also about your experience.

Radio Jargon  Lingo and Meanings - 44